About the Festival

UCF Celebrates the Arts, a festival showcasing creativity, innovation and collaboration from Orlando’s hometown university, occurs annually at Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts in April. The event is hosted by the UCF College of Arts and Humanities and features the faculty and students from the School of Performing Arts and the School of Visual Arts and Design, as well as work from the humanities departments and other units from around the university. Partnership, one of UCF’s long-standing values, is brought front-and-center at UCF Celebrates the Arts, with many events showcasing the collaborative nature of the university and demonstrating how UCF is both in and of the Central Florida community.

Festival Artwork

The artwork for UCF Celebrates the Arts 2020 features the work of artists Dorothy Gillespie. In 2020, the Dorothy Gillespie Centennial Celebration acknowledges the 100th anniversary of the renowned artist’s birth. Gillespie, whose career spanned more than seven decades, developed a trademark style of painting colorful abstract forms on metal that was then cut and shaped into willowy ribbon-like works that are both painting and sculpture. Pieces used for UCF Celebrates the Arts include Untitled 7/20 (1995), Strolling Phantom (1999), Untitled (2003), Festival Concerto (2001) and Bullrushes (2005). Images provided by Gary Israel and the Dorothy M. Gillespie Foundation and the UCF Art Gallery.

Logos incuding UCF, Dr. Phillips Center, Orlando Shakes, National Young Composers Challenge, Orlando Philharmonic Orchestra, Orlando Repertory Theatre, OUC The Reliable One, WUCF, and LIFE at UCF

Steering Committee

  • Michael Wainstein, chair
  • Gary Brown
  • Hannah Estes
  • Seth Fendly
  • Heather Gibson
  • Thomas Harrison
  • Emily Johnson
  • Paul Lartonoix
  • Shannon Lindsey
  • Julia Listengarten
  • Scott Lubaroff
  • Claudia Lynch
  • Rudy McDaniel
  • Joe Muley
  • Steven Risko
  • Jeffrey Rupert
  • Azela Santana
  • Bert Scott
  • Keri Watson
  • Krissy Yagel

Production Supervision

Provided by SenovvA

  • Amy Hadley
  • Brittany Brown
  • Jay Stuber

Company Manager

  • Jazlynne Williams*

Stage Managers

  • Claudia Lynch, advisor
  • Bobby Malke*
  • Emma Carbone*
  • Audrey Casteris*
  • Jade Collins*
  • Sophia Faust*
  • Sabrina Hutcheson*
  • Megan Ianero*
  • Natasha Junkermeier*
  • Merna Khalil*
  • Madisen Mckenzie*
  • Maddie Nave*
  • Sarah Nicholson*
  • Morgan Polodna*


  • Bridget Parry, box office manager
  • Bjørn Bachmann*
  • Alex Koohyar*
  • Katelyn Lang*
  • Michelle Malove*
  • Shahmad Muhammad*
  • Tatiana Paige*
  • Lenee Peterson*
  • Alexandra Ramey*


  • Heather Gibson
  • Matthew Dunn
  • Steven Risko
  • Hannah Estes
  • Victoria Weston
  • Mike W. Leavitt
  • Quwade Bretch*
  • Jennifer Chocolate*
  • Myranda Elkin*
  • Nicole Law*
  • Bella Martinez*
  • Tye Rothberg*
  • Rachel Tran*

*denotes UCF student