Announcing the Winners of Our 2022 Editor’s Prizes

We’re pleased to announce the winners, runners-up, and finalists of our 2022 Editor’s Prizes in fiction, poetry, and nonfiction. All winners receive $1,000 and publication in The Florida Review 47.1, Spring 2023.


Winner: Will Berry, for “Buck Velvet”

Runner-up: ”The Point of Indifference” by Matthew Haynes

Finalists: “A Moment of Violence” by David DeGusta & “Saltation and Snow” by Curtis VanDonkelaar


Winner: Bridget Lyons, for “Rippling Lines”

Runner-Up: “It Takes Pain to Be Beautiful” by Maureen Stanton

Finalist: “Learning to Grieve the Living” by Michelle Polizzi


Winner: Jacqueline Schaalje, for “Orca on the Beach (Sijos)”

Runners-up: “Nearing 60” and “My Neighbor’s Blue Jeans” by Tania Rochelle & “On Ice,” “Bedtime Story with Eagle and Sun,” and “Snow Machines” by Bret Shepard

Congratulations to these fine writers, and thank you to all who entered—this year saw many impressive submissions in all categories, and we look forward to publishing several additional entries in upcoming issues of the journal. Next year’s Editor’s Prizes will open for submissions on January 1, 2023. We look forward to reading more incredible work!