April 24, 2013

Five UCF students and two faculty members from the School of Visual Arts and Design were awarded Sony Scholarships on April 19. The Sony Scholarship is awarded to current, full-time UCF students or faculty who have shown superior academic achievement in the fields of digital and emerging media such as Game Design, Animation, Graphic Design, and Architecture.

This year’s awards were presented by Steve Zimmer of Sony Direct. The student winners were Katerine Medina, Anthony Lair, Liana Anjuli Seegoolam, Ronald Ferree, and Leonard J. Shields. The faculty recipients were Ilenia Colon Mendoza and Jason Burrell.

Applicants were required to send in a faculty letter of recommendation detailing the student’s accomplishments in and out of the classroom, including community outreach in the arts, and how the award would impact the student’s future in the field of emerging media.

Each winner received a Sony equipment package including a VAIO PC Notebook and related electronics.