April 11, 2018

Congratulations to the faculty members and students from the College of Arts and Humanities who received awards at the 2018 Founders’ Day Honors Convocation. The annual ceremony recognizes the academic achievements, contributions and tenures of students and faculty members from across disciplines and encourages them to continue making strides in their careers.
Along with awards for teaching, research and service, the dean of each college selects one undergraduate student a year to receive the $500 Founders’ Award for exceptional work within their area of study. Additionally, a student pursuing honors in their major is commended for their outstanding thesis.
View the full list of winners from CAH below:

The College Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
• Cheryl Briggs (School of Visual Arts and Design)
• Ilenia Colon Mendoza (School of Visual Arts and Design)
• Edward Dandrow (History)
• Peter Telep (English)
The College Award for Excellence in Research
• David Brunner (Music)
The University Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Faculty Academic Advising
• Kristina Tollefson (Theatre)
20-Year Service Awards
• Martha Brenckle (Writing and Rhetoric)
• Douglas Evans (Philosophy)
• Stephen Fiore (Philosophy)
• Lynn Hepner (Writing and Rhetoric)
• Eladio Scharron (Music)
• Peter Telep (English)
• Ezekiel Walker (History)
• George Weremchuk (Music)
Retired and Retiring Faculty
• Paul Dombrowski (English)
• Keith Folse (Modern Languages and Literature)
• Paolo Giordano (Modern Languages and Literature)
• Susan Hubbard (English)
• Daniel Jones (English)
• Patrick Murphy (English)
Founders’ Award
• Thomas Heller
Honors in the Major Outstanding Thesis Award
• Rachael Rothstein-Safra
Visit http://constituents.ucf.edu/foundersday/ to learn more about the convocation.