March 20, 2020
Headset Collage of Faculty Awardees

The Philosophy Department has been off to a great first quarter of 2020! Since the beginning of the Spring 2020 semester seven faculty members have been recognized for their dedication to research and teaching.

The UCF Research Incentive Awards (RIA) program supports outstanding research, scholarly and creative activity that advances the body of knowledge in a particular field, including interdisciplinary research and collaborations. This award recognizes employee contributions to UCF’s key goal of achieving international prominence in research and creative activities. Dr. Jonathan Beever and Dr. Luis Favela were both selected for this highly competitive award.

The UCF mid-career refresh program is intended to support individual faculty by investing funds to assist them in moving to the next level in their research and scholarship or creative activities and to further their career. Dr. Ann Gleig and Dr. Lanlan Kuang were selected for this highly competitive award. Dr. Gleig will be pursuing two book projects, Sex and the Sangha and the Oxford Handbook of American Buddhism, and Dr. Kuang will be pursuing an ethnographic study on Heritage Studies and the Silk Road Expressive Arts.

The Florida Undergraduate Research Association (FURA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the understanding of research and creative activity across all disciplines. FURA promotes the creation of new undergraduate research opportunities and unites like-minded faculty and administrators across the state to support this high-impact educational practice. Dr. Luciana Garbayo was the well-deserved recipient of this year’s Faculty Mentor of Year Award by FURA.

Dr. Jeanine Viau was among thirty-one women honored by UCF Faculty Excellence during March for Women’s History Month. The women were nominated by peers and colleagues for their impact on campus and in the community.

Dr. Nicholas Shrubsole was chosen for the highly competitive College of Arts & Humanities Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. This award recognizes outstanding undergraduate-level teaching.

“These awards highlight the excellent research and teaching contributions of faculty members in our Department,” said Department Chair Michael Strawser.